The 3rd Annual PRTCC Online Awards 2008

As an alternative to the real thing that takes place at the Portland Utd FC Blues Club, PRTCC Online held its annual awards ceremony behind closed doors to highlight their picks of the 2008 season, with prizes dedicated to the great and the good of Triangle's recent past.

In the style of Wisden we'll start by naming our five players of the year...


j0144532.jpg's Five Players of the Year

The Phil Adams Memorial Player of the Year Award


Sami Rathnayake

44 wickets for the season at 16.41 and 268 runs with the bat.

Simon Barrett – The club's top run scorer at the weekends with 387 runs at 27.64
Matt Gomm - Hit a superb century of 129no to finish the season top of the 1st XI averages with 35.
Dave Price – Not content with scoring the fastest century of the season (115 from 31 balls), but notched up 299 runs at 33.22 in evening league.
Simon Proffitt - Only 14 years old and scored 302 runs for the season at weekends, including his maiden half-century, also chipping in with 9 wickets.


The Ben Doidge Young Player of the Year Award


Simon Proffitt

As above, Proffitt scored over 300 runs for the season at weekends, adding a further 62 in evening league and taking 20 wickets overall

Callan Laws - Another fine batting performance scoring 255 at weekends, along with 17 wickets at 19.12
Olly Whisker – 17 wickets at 13.53 including a stand-out performance of 7-30 vs Parkstone.

The Dana Milverton Veteran Player of the Year Award


Tony Quayle

Now he qualifies in the over-50 class, TQ stormed to the top of the George's evening league batting averages with 126.00 (only out once) and was again pushing for top of the Saturday 2nd's list. Always reliable behind the stumps, though the injuries are starting to take their toll.

Dave Males – Is he losing his tag as the club's top senior professional? Dave still manages to turn out both days most weekends, but the batting average is starting to slip for the usually reliable opener.

The Most Improved Player of the Year Award


Simon Proffitt

From scoring 55 runs at 5.50 in 2007 to 302 at 18.88 in 2008, young Prof has definitely stepped up this season to be a key batsman for the Saturday 2nds.

Callan Laws – Came on as a true all-rounder improving his run output from 35 in 2007 to 255 at 19.62 and taking 17 wickets at 19.12
Simon Barrett - Showed age is no barrier to improvement scoring 387 runs and increasing his average by nearly 10 on last year to finish with his highest for 6 years.

The Jon Dixon Performance of the Year Award


Dave Price

115 runs from just 31 balls, even Dicko was impressed with that strike rate.

Matt Gomm - His 129* was the only other century scored this season, and came in the same game as Price's
Olly Whisker - 7-30 against Parkstone turned the game and was the best bowling analysis of the year
Sami Rathnayake - 5-6 vs Kingston Lacy, just unplayable.

The Bill Gates Partnership Contribution Award


Tony Morris - Hit 1 run in a third wicket partnership of 28 with Simon Proffitt vs Charlton Down

The Graham Elenor Captain of the Year Award


Jodie Locke

Despite being on the understudy, Jodie notched up 2 wins, 1 tie and a loss in his 4 games in charge of the Sunday 2nds.

Dave Price - Turned round an awful start to the evening league season to notch up 4 wins, including 3 against the top three in the division.
Glyn Bartholomew - Led the George Inn to joint third in evening league Division 2

The Tony Quayle "Yes, No or Maybe" Run Out Award


Martin Gibbs

Victim: Martin Weller, vs Bridge Inn Bears. Ignored the call for a second run, standing his ground as Martin was left stranded halfway down the wicket.

Dave Price - Victim: Richie Samuel, vs Broadstone 4ths. Tried to turn an easy 2 into 3 runs, but Gladstone was left with too much to do.
Simon Barrett - Victim: Jon Dixon, vs Cranborne. Chalky called Dicko through for a second with the ball already in the fielder's hands, leaving the big man no chance as he was run out with 11 yards to spare.
Dave Males - Victim: Dan Strong, vs Broadstone. Set off for a run without calling, stopped halfway then sprinted to safety, leaving Dan confused and stranded.

The Dave Blackman Slow Hand Clap Award


Dave Males

Ticked along happily at a steady 0.5 runs per over for a gritty 14 against Bournemouth 2nds at Chapel Gate.

Simon Proffitt -
Ground out 27 runs from 30 overs against Charlton Down, not helped by the home side setting a containing 7-2 offside field later in his innings.

The Teddy Tremlin Economy Award


Sami Rathnayake

6.1-1-6-5. The Sri Lankan paceman ripped through Kingston Lacy's top order as they crumbled from 51/1 to 90 all out.

Simon Proffitt - Four nearly untouchable overs against Bridport 2nd XI (4-2-2-0)
Michael Males – A tidy spell against Winton Sports (9-3-17-2)
Melvyn Tremlin - A shortened spell due to his back flaring up, but still very tight bowling, on a May wicket! (7-4-7-1)
Laurie West - A superb spell in evening league (3-1-2-2)
Les Spencer - A five-for from an unplayable 5 overs against the Marquis of Granby (5-2-7-5)

The John Ryan Economy Award


Grant Neven

It looked like the batsman was on schedule for the maximum 36 after hitting the first 4 balls clean over the ropes, but the batsman's retirement spared the little guy and he only went for 28.

Adam Smart - One over for 19 runs helped Portland United recover from 25/6 after 10 overs.
Grant Neven - Helped New Look's run chase in the evening league to swing the game in their favour (2-0-26-0)
Richard Stewkesbury – Swanage 2nds were piling on the runs, helped by 3 overs from the Duke, though he did buy one wicket (3-0-36-1)
Matty Randell - Young Randell was smashed around Herrison before finally earning an expensive wicket (3-0-42-1)
Rich Samuel - Gladstone wasn't quite on the money against Puddletown (7-0-70-1)
Paul Cook - Pidgeon was quickly asked to take a rest after a wayward opening spell (2-0-21-0)
Dan Strong - Dan's two wickets came at a high cost against Budmouth (2-0-26-2)
Dave Price - Saggies' Nigel Evans took a shine to the skipper's bowling (4-0-48-0)

The Tail-End Bunny Award


Aarron Riley

5 ducks for young Brains, including a pair over one weekend

Runners up:
Martin Gibbs
- 5 ducks

The Opposition Tea of the Year



The Jan Davey Quote of the Year


"I've got to play this game, I'm a coach!" - Aarron Riley sets the record straight

"" -

Replacing the Excuse of the Year Award is a brand new gong...

The Tom Cole Numpty Award


Tom Cole

Told to be at the ground for 12pm to take players to Puddletown, instead drove himself straight to Puddletown

Callan Laws – Hard-partying/lazy Callan didn't wake up in time for a noon pickup and missed his 1st XI debut.
Marco Nott - Pick any game, he still goes out to bat attempting to hold his box in place using a pair of boxer shorts. The end result is that all it's protecting is his knee cap.

The Daniel Jones Umpiring Award


Jon Dixon

While watching the Saturday 2nd XI against Parkstone, insisted on replacing their man at square leg and then went on to give two lbw's in his first few overs, much to the chagrin of Parkstone's captain.

Aarron Riley – Judged Marco Nott leg before against Poole Town 4th's, despite claims that it had hit the bat first.
Jodie Locke – The usually placid Pete Laming was livid when Jodie gave a marginal run out decision in favour of the fielding side.

The W.G. Grace Award

aka The "They came to watch me bat, not you bowl" Award

Grant Neven

Refused to walk during a friendly after his own captain (Squeaker) gave him out lbw, claiming it had hit his bat first. The opposition allowed him to continue batting to stop any further trouble and as Triangle only needed around 10 to win with plenty of wickets in hand.


The Action Shot of the Season (as printed in the Dorset Echo)


Sami Rathnayake in full flow

Simon Barrett